Skip to main content

Richardson Named to Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Oct 24, 2022

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Senior Will Richardson was one of 20 players nationally named to the 2022 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award watch list by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday.
It is the second-straight year Richardson has earned the distinction. Richardson led the team in scoring last season, averaging 14.1 points (.454 FG%), 3.7 rebounds, 3.6 assists and 1.3 steals per game. He was twice named Pac-12 Player of the Week and moved into the career top 10 lists in both assists and steals for the Ducks.
Richardson's former teammate Payton Pritchard became the first Oregon player to win the award when he was honored in 2020. Other previous winners include Collin Gillespie, Villanova (2022), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Frank Mason III, Kansas (2017), Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016) and Delon Wright, Utah (2015).
Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA's 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.
Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting on October 28. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected.
The winner of the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone (Power Forward) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women's Starting Five.
For more information on the 2023 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram.
2023 Bob Cousy Award Candidates*

Jahvon Quinerly Alabama Kendric Davis Memphis
Jordan Walker Alabama-Birmingham Caleb Love North Carolina
Kerr Kriisa Arizona Grant Sherfield Oklahoma
Wendell Green, Jr. Auburn Max Adams Oral Roberts
Isaiah Stevens Colorado State Will Richardson Oregon
Ryan Nembhard Creighton Yuri Collins St. Louis
Antonie Davis Detroit Mercy Mike Miles, Jr. TCU
Jeremy Roach Duke Tyrese Hunter Texas
Sahvir Wheeler Kentucky Tyger Campbell UCLA
Darius McGhee Liberty Kihei Clark Virginia

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2022-23 season*