Skip to main content

Lappe Named To Student-Athlete Watch List

Dec 21, 2002

Albuquerque - Linda Lappe, senior forward and team captain for the University of Colorado women's basketball team has been named to the official watch list for the Creamland Dairies Collegiate Student-Athlete of the Year Award, the Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau announced Friday.

This award honors these college seniors for their athletic and academic achievement as well as community involvement. The first-time award will be presented at the end of the 2002-2003 basketball season. A two-time First Team Academic All-Big 12 Selection as well as Dean's List pick at Colorado, Lappe earned a 4.0 gpa twice in her CU career.

"Creamland Dairies is proud to be associated with athletic programs in New Mexico and the Collegiate Basketball Student Athlete of the Year Award enhances our commitment to student-athletes," said Barry Beaman, General Manager of Creamland.

"Sponsoring this program is a natural match for Creamland...working toward the promotion of young people developing healthy bodies so they can achieve both on the playing court and in the classroom."

The nominees will be narrowed to the Final 10 by March 3, 2003 and three finalists will be named during the NCAA basketball tournaments. The three finalists will be present in Albuquerque, N.M. on April 9, 2003 at an awards dinner held at the Albuquerque Marriott Hotel for the announcement of the Creamland Dairies Men's & Women's Collegiate Basketball Student-Athlete of the Year award.

The entire list of women's nominees follows:
Jordan Adams, New Mexico
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Kerensa Barr, Missouri
Gunta Basko, Siena
Tamara Bowie, Ball State
Katie Bussan, Wright State
Jessica Butler, Canisius
Dawn Cressman, Vermont
Allison Curtin, Tulsa
Heather Cusick, Miami (Ohio)
Katie Day, Columbia
Chrissy Donovan, Dayton
Wendy Gabbe, California Irvine
Chelsea Grear, New Mexico
Katharine Hanks, Dartmouth
Tiffany Kyser, IUPUI
Linda Lappe, Colorado
Kimberly Lawson, Rice
Sonja Mallory, Georgia Tech
Courtney Mattingly, St. Bonaventure
Michelle Matyasovsky, Duke
Kate McMeeken-Ruscoe, Buffalo
Kourtney Mennen, Indiana State
Katie O'Keefe, Holy Cross
Loree Payne, Washington
Alicia Ratay, Notre Dame
Anne Tierney, Lehigh
Marquel Timmons, Texas Southern
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Becky Tyo, Western Illinois