Skip to main content

Several Buffs Named Academic All-Big 12

Nov 20, 2007

Related Links

#articleRelated {
display: none;

BOULDER - Thirteen members of the University of Colorado football team were named to the 2007 Academic All-Big 12 Team Tuesday.


The football academic all-league team consists of 92 first team members combined with 59 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.


Seven Colorado players were named to the first team, including junior cornerback Benjamin Burney; senior placekicker Kevin Eberhart; senior tailback Byron Ellis; junior defensive tackle George Hypolite; sophomore safety Bret Smith; redshirt freshman tight end Nate Solder; and senior wide receiver Dusty Sprague.


Second team members include sophomore fullback Jake Behrens; senior tight end Tyson DeVree; sophomore punter Matt DiLallo; senior linebacker Jordon Dizon; redshirt freshman defensive end Marquez Herrod; and senior offensive lineman Tyler Polumbus.


To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.