Football’s Grice Earns Week Three Paul Hornung Award Roll Selection

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Arizona State University senior running back Marion Grice has been named to the Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll for week three for his role in the Sun Devils’ 32-30 win over No. 20 Wisconsin Sept. 14 at Sun Devil Stadium.
Grice scored four rushing touchdowns and became the first Sun Devil to rush for four touchdowns in a game since Mike Williams ran for four at Arizona on Nov. 29, 2002.
Grice rushed 22 times for 84 yards, including a long run of 18 yards, and averaged 3.8 yards per carry. He scored on runs of one, one, two and 12 yards, with the two-yarder giving ASU a 25-24 lead that it would not relinquish. Grice also caught five passes for 50 yards, including a long reception of 20 yards, and added three kickoff returns for 64 yards, including a long of 23 yards. In all, Grice collected 198 all-purpose yards on 84 yards rushing, 50 yards receiving and 64 yards on kickoff returns.  
With four touchdowns against Wisconsin, Grice now has amassed 12 touchdowns (10 rushing, two receiving) over the last five games. He now has six touchdowns on the year (five rushing, one receiving), and has racked up 25 touchdowns over his first 15 games in an ASU uniform. He continues to maintain his average of scoring a touchdown every 7.5 times he touches the ball — a figure that led the Pac-12 Conference last season.
Grice leads the nation in scoring at 18.0 points per game and is 6th in the Pac-12 in all-purpose yards (161.0). He is one of only four players nationally to score four touchdowns in a single game in 2013, joining Jay Ajayi of Boise State, Odell Beckham of LSU and Kasey Carrier of New Mexico.
Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Ole Miss running back Jeff Scott, Oregon running back De’Anthony Thomas and Tulsa’s Trey Watts were also named to this week’s honor roll.
The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances around the nation by FBS student-athletes. The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually at the end of each season to the most versatile player in major college football.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder