Skip to main content

Football’s Conway Honored As NFF College Scholar Athlete

Jan 30, 2014

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior defensive end Gannon Conway has been named a National Football Foundation (NFF) Valley of the Sun Chapter College Scholar Athlete for the class of 2014, the NFF has announced.

Conway will receive a postgraduate scholarship from Fiesta Bowl Charities, and will be recognized and celebrated at the 33rd Annual Scholar Athlete Banquet, March 1, at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort.

Conway was also awarded the Admiral U.S. Grant Sharp Trophy, given to an individual who demonstrates an unselfish commitment, motivation and team-first attitude that contributes to the program’s overall success, prior to the 2013 National University Holiday Bowl.  

A local product from Gilbert’s Higley High and Mesa Community College, he has started all 14 games in 2013 and capped off his career with 2013 All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention recognition as well as Pac-12 All-Academic honors. He had 38 tackles, including 7.0 for loss and 3.5 sacks, and added two pass breakups and two pass deflections.

Conway has embodied the Sun Devil Way through his tireless work ethic, selfless attitude and dedication to excellence on the field, in the classroom and around the local community. He enrolled at ASU as a walk-on prior to the 2010 season and was was awarded a scholarship in Spring 2011. Three seasons later he was a nominee for the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The 33rd Annual Scholar Athlete Banquet, Saturday, March 1, 2014, will be held at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort. 7200 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ  85283. Tickets are $85 each or $750 for a table of 10. Reservations and payment will be accepted by Janie Riddle, President,, and we accept MC/VISA and AmX or Check.  Any questions, contact Janie Riddle at 602-768-3777.

ASU's National Football Foundation Hall of Fame Scholar-Athletes

2014 – Gannon Conway

2013 - Brandon Johnson 

2013 - Deveron Carr (HM) 

2012 - Aaron Pflugrad

2011 - Thomas Weber

2010 - Mike Nixon

2009 - Troy Nolan

2008 - Michael Marquardt

2007 - Jason Burke

2006 - Chad Christensen

2005 - Grayling Love

2004 - Skyler Fulton

2003 - Mike Barth

2002 - Nick Murphy

2001 - Mike Aguirre

1997 - Damien Richardson

1996 - Kirk Robertson

1995 - Justin Dragoo

1994 - Parnell Charles

1993 - Toby Mills

1992 - Adam Brass

1992 - Kurt Lasher

1991 - Bret Powers 

1990 - Drew Metcalfe

1989 - Mark Tingstad

1988 - Todd Kalis

1978 - Chris Mott

1966 - Ken Dyer