This year in Pac-12 track and field

Pac-12 Content Image
Eric Evans

Download Complete Release (PDF)

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The OREGON men capped the 2014 track & field season capturing its first NCAA title since 1984 and the Pac-12’s first since 2000. The Ducks also swept the men’s and women’s Pac-12 team crowns for the sixth consecutive year. It was the eighth-straight league title for the men’s squad and the sixth in a row for the women.

In additional to the UO men, three more Pac-12 teams placed in the top 15 at the NCAA Championships, including a tie for fourth place for USC, a seventh-place showing for ARIZONA and ARIZONA STATE tied for 13th. On the women’s side, Oregon was the top finisher, coming in third place, while STANFORD placed 11th. The Trojans were just out of the top 15, tying for 16th in the final standings.

Six men and three women claimed individual NCAA titles, including four UO men and two women. Individual champions were UA’s Lawi Lalang (5000m), ASU’s Bryan McBride (high jump), and Oregon’s Mac Fleet (1500m), Edward Cheserek (10,000m), Devon Allen (110m hurdles) and Sam Crouser (javelin). For the women, UO’s Laura Roesler (800m) and Jenna Prandini (long jump) took home NCAA crowns, as did ASU’s Shelby Houlihan (1500m).

Pac-12 honors went to Lalang, who was voted Pac-12 Men’s Track Athlete of the Year and teammate Nick Ross was the Pac-12 Men’s Field Athlete of the Year for the second time in his career. Prandini became the first male or female athlete to sweep the Conference’s track and field honors, winning Pac-12 Women’s Track Athlete of the Year and Pac-12 Women’s Field Athlete of the Year honors. Freshmen Devon Allen of UO and Stanford’s Valarie Allman were tabbed the Pac-12 Men’s and Women’s Newcomers of the Year. The Ducks’ Robert Johnson was voted the men’s and women’s Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the second-straight year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network