Football’s Douglas Earns Spot On Outland Trophy Watch List

TEMPE, Ariz. – Arizona State University football student-athlete Jamil Douglas has been named to the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced Thursday.

The Outland Trophy is presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman.

Douglas, who earned Second Team All-Pac-12 honors in 2013, has started 27 consecutive games on the Sun Devils’ offensive line, tied for the most career starts on the team. He is one of only four returning offensive linemen in the conference to earn first or second-team All-Pac-12 recognition in 2013.

A redshirt senior from Cypress, Calif., Douglas graduated from ASU in December 2013 with a Bachelor’s of Science in Criminal Justice and Criminology, and he is currently enrolled in a master’s program at ASU.

This is the second consecutive season a Sun Devil has been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List after former ASU defensive tackle Will Sutton made the list in 2013.

2014 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Outland Trophy (nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) – Jamil Douglas
Groza Award (nation’s most outstanding placekicker) – Zane Gonzalez
Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – De’Marieya Nelson
Maxwell Award (America's College Player of the Year) – D.J. Foster, Taylor Kelly, Jaelen Strong 
Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) – Foster

ASU opens its campaign toward the Pac-12 Championship on Aug. 28 at Sun Devil Stadium against Weber State and the remaining home schedule includes UCLA on Sept. 25, a rematch with Stanford on Oct. 18 and a non-conference game with Notre Dame on Nov. 8.  

Season tickets are currently on sale at, by calling the Sun Devil Athletics Ticket Office at 480-965-5812, making an appointment with a Sun Devil Sales and Service staff member, or visiting the Sun Devil Ticket Office, located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium. The ticket office is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Click here for pricing and more information about Sun Devil Football season tickets.

In addition to guaranteeing the same seat for all 2014 home games, becoming a Sun Devil Football Season Ticket Holder is the only way to guarantee tickets to the Notre Dame game on Nov. 8, 2014, at Sun Devil Stadium.

About the Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11 from Disney’s Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 15, 2015, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Notre Dame’s Ross Browner, the 1976 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder