This year in Pac-12 women's swimming & diving

Cal Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO - It was another banner year for Pac-12 women’s swimming and diving, capped with an NCAA title as CALIFORNIA won the national crown for the fourth time in the past seven years. The Golden Bears were also Pac-12 Champions or a second-straight year. Cal’s Missy Franklin was named NCAA Women’s Swimmer of the Year and Teri McKeever was named NCAA Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year. 

Cal dominated the field at the NCAA Championships with a school-record 513 points in the event en route to the meet victory. Four other Pac-12 teams finished in the top 25, with Stanford coming in third, USC at eighth, Arizona at 15th and UCLA at 23rd. Pac-12 swimmers won 13 of a possible 21 events, including eight individual titles and all five relay titles. Four NCAA and American records, one championship record, and five pool records were broken by Pac-12 swimmers at the national meet. 

The Golden Bears also won their second-consecutive and fourth-overall Pac-12 Championship, with nine different Golden Bear swimmers capturing at least one race at the meet, either individually or on a relay. Cal won 12 of the possible 21 events en route to the Pac-12 crown, thanks largely in part to Missy Franklin who won three individual titles. Three NCAA records, three Pac-12 records and five meet records were broken at this year’s Championships. 

Cal’s Franklin was voted Pac-12 Women’s Swimmer of the Year, while STANFORD’s Simone Manuel was named Women’s Swimming Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and Cal’s Teri McKeever received Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year accolades. On the diving side, ARIZONA’s Samantha Pickens was voted Pac-12 Women’s Diver of the Year, and UCLA’s Maria Polyakova was voted Women’s Diving Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and UA’s Omar Ojeda was voted Women’s Diving Coach of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder