Skip to main content

Pac-12 Networks unveils all-century men's water polo team

Oct 13, 2015

Tony Azevedo named Men’s Water Polo Player of the Century; Jovan Vavic named Coach of the Century

SAN FRANCISCO (October 13, 2015) – Sixteen players and one coach who excelled at the collegiate level were named to the Pac-12 All-Century Water Polo team on the latest episode of Pac-12 Sports Report Monday evening.

The all-century team is comprised of seven driver/attackers, seven field/utility/2M and two goalkeepers.

The voting panel, which consisted of former players, coaches and members of the media, was highlighted by some of the true authorities in the sport of men’s water polo. These included Chris Dorst, former Stanford player, 1984 Olympic silver medalist and Pac-12 Network analyst, and James Smith of

UCLA leads the represented Pac-12 schools with six players, while USC and Stanford both have four on the roster. Chris Humbert and Kevin Robertson of California round out the group.

Tony Azevedo, the current captain of the US National Men’s Water Polo Team, was voted the Pac-12 Water Polo Player of the Century. While at Stanford, he led the Cardinal to two NCAA Championships (2001 and 2002). He set a freshman scoring record (68 goals), a single-season scoring record (95 goals as a sophomore) and a career scoring record (332 goals). In each of his four years of college, Azevedo was awarded the Peter J. Cutino Award for the most outstanding male player of the year. He has competed with the US National Team for the past three Olympic games.

Longtime USC head coach Jovan Vavic earns Pac-12 Water Polo Coach of the Century with a career 472-75 record. Vavic currently boasts nine men’s national championships, including a run of six straight from 2008 to 2013. He also serves as the women’s head coach. He has led both to national championships in the same school year four times. Vavic has been named National Coach of the Year 12 times and MPSF Coach of the Year 10 times between the two programs.

The complete All-Century roster is below:


Tony Azevedo-Stanford (2001-04)   

Kevin Robertson-California (1977-80)

Kostas Genidounias-USC (2011-14)

Wolf Wigo-Stanford (1991-94)

Nikola Vavic-USC (2010-13)

Stan Cole-UCLA (1963-68)

Jim Ferguson-UCLA (1968-71)


Jody Campbell-Stanford (1978-81)

Chris Humbert-California (1988-91)

Sean Kern-UCLA (1997-2000)

J.W. Krumpholz-USC (2006-09)

Alex Rousseau-UCLA (1985-89)

James Bergeson-Stanford (1979-82)

Russ Webb-UCLA (1963-68)


Joel Dennerley-USC (2008-11)

Brandon Brooks-UCLA (1999-02)

Pac-12 Men’s Water Polo Player of the Century

Tony Azevedo-Stanford (2001-04)   

Pac-12 Men’s Water Polo Coach of the Century

Jovan Vavic-USC (1995-present) *co-head coach 1995-1999