Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Demetric Felton Named Doak Walker Award Candidate

Jul 15, 2020
Demetric Felton

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced on Wednesday that Demetric Felton had been named to the preseason candidate list for the 2020 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

     Felton set a UCLA record for running backs last season with 55 receptions, a total which ranked tied for second in the nation among players at the position. He also established a new school single-season mark with four touchdowns of at least 75 yards in length --- 75-yard reception at Cincinnati, 94-yard reception at Washington State, 100-yard kickoff return at Washington State and 75-yard run versus Oregon State. The redshirt senior recorded multiple receptions in all 12 games during the season, with a high of nine catches against the Beavers, which matched the school single-game mark by a running back. On the season, he rushed for 311 yards on 86 carries. Felton recorded 15 overall touches on the year which resulted in a gain of at least 20 yards. He ran for a season-best 111 yards against Oregon State to become the first Bruin to register a 100-yard receiving and a 100-yard rushing game in the same season since 2005 (Chris Markey).

     The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced later that month. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives. The recipient of the 2020 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

     The award is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.