Skip to main content

Postseason Begins Friday at Pac-12 Championships

May 13, 2021

EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon track and field team begins the postseason portion of its 2021 campaign at the Pac-12 Championships at Loker Stadium in Los Angeles. For the Ducks, the three-day meet—hosted by USC—begins Friday at 2 p.m. (PT) with the start of the multi-events competition.
Day three of the Pac-12 Championships will air live on the Pac-12 Network with Jim Watson and Ato Boldon in the booth handling play-by-play and color analyst duties, respectively. The broadcast will begin Sunday at 3 p.m. (PT). Additionally, a live stream of field events will be available on days one and two (links below). Sunday's television coverage will included recorded highlights of the steeplechase and 10,000 meters.
How to WatchDay 1 | Day 2 | Day 3
The Men of Oregon enter the weekend as the No. 3 team in the latest national poll and the 13-time defending champion while the Women of Oregon check in at No. 13 in the country. The men's field also features top-25 challenges from No. 4 USC and No. 20 Arizona. In addition to the Ducks, the women's competition includes five top-20 teams with No. 5 USC, No. 12 UCLA, No. 15 Arizona and No. 17 Colorado.
Oregon will have six scoring opportunities—two men, four women—in four events Friday with finals set for the 10,000 meters and javelin.
10,000 meters – Jack Yearian
Javelin – Dalton Rasmussen
10,000 meters – Carmela Cardama Baez, Caramia Mestler
Javelin – Lauri Paredes, Riley Traeger
Along with the start of the decathlon and heptathlon, day one of the Pac-12 Championships will include prelims in the 200 and 1,500 meters, and the 400-meter hurdles.
Entering the meet, Oregon owns or shares the conference lead in 10 events including an NCAA-best mark from Cole Hocker in the 5,000 meters. He is entered in the 800 and 5,000 meters this weekend.
Cole Hocker – 5,000m
Ben Milligan – high jump
Cooper Teare – 1,500m
Max Vollmer – decathlon
Micah Williams – 100m, 200m*
Micah Williams/Gaston Bouchereau/Rieker Daniel/Jacoby McNamara – 4x100m relay
Kemba Nelson – 100m, 200m
Alysah Hickey – long jump
The Ducks return four Pac-12 champions from the 2019 conference meet. Rhesa Foster is a two-time conference champion in the long jump (2017, '19). Teare and Vollmer won the 5,000 meters and decathlon, respectively, and Daniel was part of the Ducks' victorious 4x100-meter relay from the 2019 Pac-12 Championships.
Since becoming the UO head coach prior to the 2012-13 season, Robert Johnson has seen the Ducks combine to win 12 Pac-12 outdoor team titles. The UO men have won the past 13 league titles dating back to 2007 while the UO women have won five conference titles under Johnson's watch. Individually, Oregon has racked up 70 Pac-12 titles during Johnson's tenure—37 for the men and 30 for the women.
Postseason Schedule
May 14-16 – Pac-12 Championships (Los Angeles, Calif.)
May 26-29 – NCAA West Preliminary (College Station, Texas)
June 9-12 – NCAA Championships (Eugene, Ore.)
For more news and information about Oregon Track and Field, follow @OregonTF on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.