Skip to main content

Season in Review

Jul 19, 2021

2021 NCAA Statistics » 2021 Pac-12 Statistics

STANFORD, Calif. – In head coach Danielle Spencer's first full season on The Farm, Stanford finished with the best win percentage in school history (.916). The Cardinal won the Pac-12 regular season and tournament title in the same year for the first time in program history.

Stanford (11-1, 7-0 Pac-12) completed an undefeated regular season at 9-0 and had the best start to a season (11-0) in program history. The Cardinal won its first Pac-12 regular season title since the league's inception in 2018, and the program's 15th regular season crown overall. Stanford finished the season ranked No. 16 in the IWLCA Coaches Poll.

Led by Pac-12 Attacker of the Year Ali Baiocco, Stanford had six players earn all-conference honors in 2021. Landing on the first team were Baiocco, Kyra Pelton and Mikaela Watson, while Jacie Lemos, Galen Lew and Genesis Lucero earned second-team accolades.
The Cardinal hosted the 2021 Pac-12 Tournament at Stanford Stadium. The No. 1 seed, Stanford defeated Arizona State in the semifinals and Colorado in the finals to secure its second Pac-12 Tournament championships and its 18th conference tournament title overall. Baiocco was named the tournament's MVP, and was joined on the all-tournament team by Lew, Watson and sophomore goalkeeper Kara Rahaim.

One of just three undefeated teams heading into the postseason, Stanford traveled to Evanston, Illinois for its 10th NCAA appearance. The Cardinal fell to Denver in the opening round of the tournament at Northwestern. In its 27th year as a program, Stanford has made the NCAA Tournament in nine of the past 12 seasons.

Following the season, Baiocco earned IWLCA All-Region first team recognition, while Lew, Pelton and Watson picked up second team honors. Baiocco went on to become the 11th Cardinal player, and first since 2018, to be named an IWLCA All-American (second team).
Baiocco led the Pac-12 and was second in the nation with 6.25 points per game. The Harding, New Jersey, native also led the league and ranked 10th nationally with 4.17 goals per game and was third in the conference with 2.08 assists per game. She had four game-winning goals on the season and twice scored eight goals in a game in 2021 – a school record.

A two-time Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week in 2021, Baiocco was a top-25 candidate for the Tewaaraton Award. She ranks second in program history in points (238) and goals (167), and third in career assists (71).
In early July, five seniors announced they would be returning to The Farm for a fifth year in 2022 – Baiocco, Lew, Katherine Gjertsen, Trudie Grattan and Alex Tsai.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Stanford Women's Lacrosse (@stanfordwlax)

2021 Cardinal Honors and Awards
Ali Baiocco
» IWLCA All-America second team
» IWLCA All-Region first team
» Pac-12 Attacker of the Year
» Pac-12 Tournament MVP & all-tournament team
» All-Pac-12 Conference first team
» IL Women Media All-America second team
» IL Women Midseason All-America third team
» Two-time Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week (March 2, April 19)
» IWLCA Division I National Offensive Player of the Week (April 20)
» US Lacrosse Magazine Division I Player of the Week (April 20)
» Tweaaraton Award top-25 nominee
» Stanford Athletics Board Award - Conference Athlete of the Year

Jay Browne
» IL Women Preseason All-America honorable mention
» IL Women Midseason Breakthrough Player of the Year

Jacie Lemos
» All-Pac-12 Conference second team
» NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship
» Stanford Athletics Board Award - Donald Kennedy Award

Galen Lew
» Pac-12 All-Tournament Team
» All-Pac-12 Conference second team

Genesis Lucero
» IL Women Media All-America third team
» IWLCA All-Region second team
» All-Pac-12 Conference second team
» IL Women Midseason All-America honorable mention
» Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week (March 29)

Kyra Pelton
» IWLCA All-Region second team
» All-Pac-12 Conference first team
» Signed with Athletes Unlimited Pro Lacrosse

Kara Rahaim
» Pac-12 All-Tournament Team

Mikaela Watson
» IWLCA Scholar-Athlete of the Year
» IWLCA All-Region second team
» All-Pac-12 Conference first team
» Pac-12 All-Tournament Team
» Tewaaraton Award Watch List