Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Driskill Leads Women to Victory at Dave Murray Invitational

Oct 1, 2021

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona Cross Country hosted their only home meet of the 2021 season on Friday at the Dave Murray Invitational where the women's side won the 6k race and the men's team finished third in the 8k.

Grace Driskill led the women's side to a win with her own individual victory in the 6k race, clocking a time of 21:01.5. She was joined in the top 10 by Maddy Christopher in fifth place with a time of 21:40.0 and Alisa Lyesina in eighth, crossing the finish line in 21:57.3.

The men finished third with a team score of 54 and Shem Kemboi leading the pack. He clocked an 8k PR of 24:47.1 to finish fourth collegiately and fifth overall. Ayden Schilb (25:24.1) and Jeffrey Sillers (25:24.7) also finished in the top 10, taking eighth and ninth respectively.

"It was a successful day with great results," said head cross country coach Bernard Lagat. "Our individual winner on the women's side, Grace Driskill, really ran according to the plan and by doing so, helped our team finish first. I'm very pleased with that. On the men's side, we did a good job with Shem staying with the top athletes in the front. It was a successful day and I'm really pleased that going forward we have something to prove that we are actually here and we're here to perform well."

Next up, the Wildcats will travel to Tallahassee, Fla. to compete at the Pre-NCAA Invitational. A complete recap of the meet will be posted to You can also follow @ArizonaTrack on twitter throughout the day for live updates.

Women's 6k Results
1. Grace Driskill - 21:01.5
5. Maddy Christopher - 21:40.0
8. Alisa Lyesina - 21:57.3
15. Johnnie Mitchell - 22:11.9
16. Meggie Karp - 22:16.8
31. Tenley Hughes - 23:18.8
35. Megan Bounds - 23:55.1
38. Aurora Barkley - 24:29.0
40. Zoe Andersen - 25:10.9

Women's Team Scores
1. Arizona - 45
2. San Diego State - 51
3. New Mexico State - 69
4. Arizona State - 73
5. Grand Canyon - 100

Men's 8k Results (Collegiate)
4. Shem Kemboi - 24:47.1
8. Ayden Schilb - 25:24.1
9. Jeffrey Sillers - 25:24.7
15. Brandon Bounds - 26:28.8
18. Luke Biondolillo - 26:47.7

Men's Team Scores
1. Arizona State - 26
2. New Mexico State - 45
3. Arizona - 54

Fans can keep up with the latest in Arizona Track and Field by following us on Facebook (, Twitter (@ArizonaTrack), Instagram (arizonatrack) and YouTube ( accounts.