Skip to main content

Osborne Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 20 Watch List

Oct 26, 2021
Charisma Osborne (photo by Caren Nicdao)

Springfield, Mass. – Charisma Osborne has been named to the top 20 watch list for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Tuesday. The award is presented annually to the nation's top shooting guard.
It's the second-straight season Osborne has checked in on the preseason watch list for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. She went on to become a top-10 finalist for the award as a sophomore in 2021 and established herself as one of the best guards in the country.
Osborne earned All-Pac-12 honors last season after finishing fourth in the Conference with 17.0 points per game. She recorded double-digit scoring performances in 20 games last season, including her first-career triple-double with 18 points, 12 assists, and 10 rebounds against USC (Feb. 28). The Moreno Valley, Calif., native grabbed 38 steals on the year and earned Pac-12 All-Defensive honors for the first time in her career.
About Ann Meyers Drysdale
"As a standout at UCLA, Ann Meyers Drysdale was one of the most dominant players in the college game, surpassing records held by both men and women," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "As a basketball executive and commentator, she is one of the sharpest minds in the game. We are grateful to utilize her expertise when evaluating our watch lists and we invite the fans to cast their votes and weigh-in alongside Annie and our committee members."
Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies
Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will open up on Friday, October 29. Fans can vote for Osborne to advance to future rounds of the watch list at for each of the three rounds of watch list consideration.
The winner of the 2022 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.
2022 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates*
Taylor Chavez, Arizona
Kiara Lewis, Clemson
Christyn Williams, UConn
Azzi Fudd, UConn
Sonya Morris, DePaul
Celeste Taylor, Duke
Kierstan Bell, FGCU
Kianna Smith, Louisville
Diamond Miller, Maryland
Katie Benzan, Maryland
Jakia Brown-Turner, NC State
Taylor Robertson, Oklahoma
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Elena Tsineke, South Florida
Lexie Hull, Stanford
Jordan Horston, Tennessee
Destiny Pitts, Texas A&M
Charisma Osborne, UCLA
Charlisse Leger Walker, Washington State
*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season.