Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
543 NCAA Titles & Counting

Four Pac-12 Women's Soccer programs earn bids to 2021 NCAA Championship

Nov 8, 2021

2021 NCAA Women's Soccer Tournament Bracket | PrintablePac-12 Record Book

SAN FRANCISCO - Four Pac-12 Women’s Soccer teams earned bids to the 2021 NCAA Division I Championship, making the 64-team field revealed by the NCAA Selection Committee on Monday afternoon. Pac-12 champion UCLA, which secured the Conference’s automatic bid with an 8-0-3 league mark, was joined by at-large selections Stanford, USC and Washington State. 

The Bruins (16-0-3) will enter the NCAA Tournament as a No. 2 seed; the nation's lone unbeaten team will host Big West Conference champion UC Irvine (15-5-0) in the NCAA First Round on Friday, Nov. 12 at 6 p.m. PT. UCLA would then host a second-round matchup against either Butler or Wisconsin.

Pac-12 runner-up USC (13-3-2) clinched a postseason bid for the eighth straight season (the longest streak in the Conference), earning a No. 3 seed. The Trojans will host Grand Canyon (16-3-2) on Saturday, Nov. 13 at 1 p.m. PT for their first-round game. A second-round visit from either Penn State or Monmouth would be on deck for USC.

Washington State (13-2-4) will also host its opening match, taking on Montana (13-5-1) on Saturday at 5 p.m. PT. The Cougars, who are making their 11th appearance in the past 14 seasons, would then face either No. 3 seed Tennessee or Lipscomb.

2019 NCAA champion Stanford (13-5-1) will begin its postseason journey on the road at reigning national champ Santa Clara (11-5-2) on Saturday at 1 p.m. PT, with the winner advancing to face No. 3 seed Georgetown or Central Connecticut State.

The four programs will be seeking to add to the Conference's history of postseason success, as since 2000:

  • Pac-12 programs have combined for six national championships, all since 2007 (Stanford 2011, 2017, 2019; USC 2007 & 2016; UCLA 2013) – tied for the most of any conference over that span.
  • A Pac-12 program has reached the NCAA Women’s College Cup final in 11 of the last 21 years.
  • Pac-12 programs have combined for 27 all-time College Cup appearances, including 23 since 2000.

This 40th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played Dec. 3 and 5 at Stevens Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif., with Santa Clara University, the West Coast Conference, and the San Jose Sports Authority all serving as host. First-round action will kick off November 12-14, with second/third-round matchups on November 19 and 21. The quarterfinals will take place on November 26 or 27. 

The national semifinals will air on ESPNU at 4:00 & 6:30 p.m PT on Friday, Dec. 3 while the championship match will take place at 5 p.m. PT on Sunday, Dec. 5 live on ESPNU.