Skip to main content

Skiba Joins Chicago Red Stars for NWSL Preseason Practice

Feb 1, 2022

CHICAGO, Ill. – Oregon State women's soccer goalkeeper Bridgette Skiba has joined the Chicago Red Stars, one of the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) teams, for preseason practice, the Red Stars announced Tuesday.
"We are extremely proud of Bridgette," said Oregon State head coach Lauren Sinacola. "Bridgette's hard work and dedication to the sport has earned her this amazing opportunity. This is a well-deserved accomplishment and we are excited to see what is in store for Bridgette's future in the NWSL. Go Beavs." 
Since the NWSL was founded in 2012, Skiba is the newest Beaver to train and compete in the league, joining Oregon State greats Bella Bixby (formerly Geist), who was drafted in 2018, as well as Jodie Taylor and Courtney Wetzel, who both transferred into the league in 2013. The NWSL has 12 teams across the United States, expanding to include Los Angeles and San Diego for the 2022 season. 
During her career, Skiba started 55 games for Oregon State, clocking 5980:25 minutes between the pipes. Finishing second in the Pac-12 for total saves this season with 82, the Portland, Ore. native tallied 286 saves in her career to finish fourth in the OSU record book. She maintained a save percentage of 0.728 in four years and totaled 12 career solo shutouts to finish fifth in the program records.  
Skiba collected several accolades while donning the Orange & Black, including two Pac-12 Fall Academic Honor Roll nods (2019, 2020), CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team honors (2019), and the Benny, a department-given award, for Most Inspirational Player two years in a row (2019, 2020). She also tabbed two Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Week nods on Nov. 12, 2019 and Nov. 8, 2021. 
During the 2021 campaign, the Beavers tied for the most wins in a single season since 2011, posting an 11-7-1 (3-7-1 Pac-12) record this fall. OSU's season was highlighted by its first road win in program history at Stanford on Sept. 30, as well as an undefeated non-conference stretch that ran from Aug. 19 to Sept. 17, and four shutouts on the season.