Skip to main content

Utah Football Lands Five On 2021 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Apr 13, 2022

IRVING, Texas – The University of Utah Football program was honored today by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame with five student-athletes being named to the 2021 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.

Britain Covey, Nick Ford, Cole Fotheringham, Joe Ludwig and Keegan Markgraf all earned the honor after a successful career on and off the field.

Members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society are comprised of college football players from all divisions of the NCAA, NAIA and sprint football who maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. Utah's five members this season are a part of 1,559 players from 313 school who qualified for the society's 16th year.

Covey, a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, finished his career at Utah as a five-time All-American and All-Pac-12 selection on the field as the all-time career punt return yards leader at Utah. He ranks in the top-10 all-time at Utah in career punt returns, receptions, all-purpose yards and receiving yards.

Fotheringham wrapped up his time at Utah after playing in 47 games with 38 starts. The three-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll selection recorded 35 receptions for 336 yards at Utah, also serving an integral part in Utah's blocking game that allowed the Utes to finish first in the Pac-12 in rushing offense in 2021.

Ford, who was a three-time All-Pac-12 selection and the 2021 Morris Trophy winner, played in 44 career games with 40 starts. He started at every position on the offensive line and was one of just two linemen in the Power Five in 2021 that had achieved that mark.

Markgraf was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy in 2021 as a three-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll selection, also earning CoSIDA Academic All-District in 2019. He played in 39 career games at Utah as a snapper, completing 210 career snaps.

Ludwig transferred to Utah in 2020 from Iowa, playing in 14 games at fullback. He finished his career at Utah as a two-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll selection.