Skip to main content

Jacquelyn Johnson Selected to Inaugural Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame Class

Apr 14, 2022

NEW ORLEANS - One of the best heptathletes in the history of the sport is heading to the hall of fame. The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the inaugural class of the Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame today, and Jacquelyn Johnson '08 (Yuma, Arizona) is one of 30 inductees. Johnson earned seven national titles under head coach Greg Kraft during her time at Arizona State and helped ASU to three NCAA titles and a pair of conference crowns. She's one of seven Pac-12-member schools with an inductee.
USTFCCCA Official Release
2022 Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame Inductees
USTFCCCA feature on Johnson
World Athletics profile
A heptathlete and pentathlete, Johnson picked up the 2006, '07 and '08 pentathlon national crowns and the 2004, '06, '07, and '08 heptathlon crowns. Her personal records in the pentathlon (4,496) and heptathlon (6,307) are both still program bests. In total, she has 10 all-time top-10 marks across ASU's indoor and outdoor record books. Johnson's dominant performances almost single handedly won ASU's three national titles and two conference titles during the 2007 and 2008 seasons. She went on to compete at Beijing 2008 where she competed in five events before pulling out with an injury.

The first class of inductees – 30 chosen solely on their accomplishments while a collegiate athlete – displays excellence in collegiate track & field and cross country at its very best. Combined they have compiled the following during their collegiate days:
- 205 national collegiate individual titles
- 99 world records
- 19 Olympic gold medals
The athletes selected to be in the first group inducted are Jenny Barringer, Ralph Boston, Ron Delany, Harrison Dillard, Suzy Favor, Charlie Greene, Carlette Guidry, DeHart Hubbard, Vicki Huber, Jackie Johnson, Jackie Joyner, Sally Kipyego, Carl Lewis, Gerry Lindgren, Randy Matson, Ralph Metcalfe, Rodney Milburn, Bobby Morrow, Suleiman Nyambui, Billy Olson, Merlene Ottey, Jesse Owens, Mel Patton, Steve Prefontaine, Meg Ritchie, Henry Rono, Wilma Rudolph, Jim Ryun, Erick Walder and John Woodruff. A clearer version of the list is available here.
Eligibility for induction this year was limited to men who had completed their collegiate eligibility prior to 2000 and women prior to 2010, with the difference being an effort to increase the number of women eligible, as the men's side of the sport has a much longer history.
The induction ceremony is set to take place at the Hult Center for the Performing Arts in Eugene, Oregon at 7:30 p.m. PT on June 6, which is the Monday preceding the 2022 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships to be held at Hayward Field.