Skip to main content

2022 Pac-12 Women's Golf Championships

April 18 - 20 | Eugene, OR
Eugene Country Club

Arizona State's Forsterling named Pac-12 Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Apr 18, 2022

Past Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year |

EUGENE, Ore. - ARIZONA STATE's Alexandra Forsterling was named the 2021-22 Pac-12 Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Monday ahead of the Pac-12 Championships. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The senior from Berlin, Germany has maintained a 3.95 grade-point average in film and media production and digital culture while annually ascending the individual national rankings for the perennial top-25 ranked Sun Devils.

For her career, Forsterling owns a 73.4 scoring average with 20 top-20 finishes, 11 top-10s, two tournament titles and an honorable mention All-Pac-12 selection (2021) during her four seasons in Tempe.  However, she has taken her game to another level during the 2021-22 season with a 71.2 scoring average, six top-10s and top-20 finishes in all 10 events played, helping her climb to No. 2 in the individual national player rankings according to Golfstat. She is among the 15 members, including eight from the Pac-12, on the spring watch list for the ANNIKA Award presented to the Most Outstanding Female Collegiate Golfer of the Year.

Off the course, Forsterling has been named a WGCA All-American Scholar (2019, 2020, 2021) and member of the Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll (2020, 2021) each of her eligible seasons, and made Arizona State's Dean's List in each of her seven semesters.

Forsterling is the league-leading seventh recipient of the honor from the Sun Devils' women's golf program.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Ya Chun Chang, Arizona; Katherine Zhu, California; Malak Bouraeda, Colorado; Ellie Slama, Oregon State; Aline Krauter, Stanford; Katherine Muzi, USC; Amy Chu, Washington State.

Pac-12 Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year
2022 - Alexandra Forsterling, Arizona State
2021 - Olivia Mehaffey, Arizona State
2020 - No award
2019 - Petra Salko, Oregon
2018 - Roberta Liti, Arizona State
2017 - Wanasa Zhou, Arizona
2016 - Lauren Kim, Stanford
2015 - Noemi Jimenez, Arizona State
2014 - Sophia Popov, USC
2013 - Sally Watson, Stanford
2012 - Giulia Molinaro, Arizona State
2011 - Pia Halbig, California
2010 - Juliana Murcia, Arizona State
2009 - Azahara Munoz, Arizona State
2008 - Allison Walshe, Arizona