Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

4 Pac-12 beach volleyball teams earn bids to 2022 NCAA Championship

Apr 30, 2022

2022 NCAA Beach Volleyball Bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Four Pac-12 beach volleyball teams will compete in the 16-team field for the 2022 NCAA Championship to be held May 4 and May 6-8 in Gulf Shores, Ala.

This marks the third time the Pac-12 sent at least three teams to the NCAA postseason, the first coming in the event's debut in 2016 (UCLA, USC, Arizona) and the second in 2021 (UCLA, USC, Stanford). The Pac-12's four entrants into the field, a league record, were the most in the country. The Coastal Collegiate Sports Association had three programs earn bids (TCU, Florida State, LSU). Either UCLA (2018, 2019) or USC (2016, 2017, 2021) has won every national crown since becoming an NCAA-sponsored sport.

Pac-12 champion and defending 2021 NCAA national champion USC earned the top overall seed, while rival and conference runner-up UCLA followed as the No. 3 seed. The Bruins will face 14th-seeded Stetson and the Trojans drew 16th-seeded UT Martin in their opening matches on Wednesday.

STANFORD captured the ninth-seed for its second NCAA appearance and will open against eighth-seed Florida Atlantic. CALIFORNIA will be making its NCAA debut as the No. 11 seed. The Golden Bears will compete against sixth-seeded LSU to kick off their first championship appearance.

The event will be held Wednesday, May 4 and continue Friday, May 6-8, in Gulf Shores, Ala., hosted by the City of Gulf Shores, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Orange Beach Sports Commission. It will be televised live by ESPN networks, with ESPNU providing live coverage on Wednesday, May 4 starting at 7 a.m. PT and Friday, May 6 at 7 a.m. PT. Live coverage will continue Saturday, May 7 on ESPN2, starting at 11 a.m. PT and Sunday, May 8 at 9:30 a.m. PT on ESPN2. The championship dual will air on ESPN2 Sunday, May 8, at 1 p.m. PT.

Additionally, live streaming coverage of every court throughout the tournament will be available on ESPN3. For all championship site match times and more information about the championship, log on to