Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Bouraeda Heads To U.S. Open

May 31, 2022
Malak Bouraeda practicing Monday for this week's U.S. Open.

BOULDER —University of Colorado senior Malak Bouraeda is set to compete at the 2022 U.S. Women's Open Presented by ProMedica, June 2-5.
The prestigious event will be held at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club for the fourth time in Southern Pines, N.C. Bouraeda earned her spot at the event when she won the 2022 Colorado Golf Association's U.S. Open Qualifier on May 10 at Walnut Creek Golf Reserve in Westminster, Colo. She carded a 143 (71-72), finishing one stroke in front of Sky Sudberry and Maria Fernanda Lira Solia who both finished with a 144 as both shot a 71 in the first round and a 73 in the second.
The 77th U.S. Women's Open Presented by ProMedica is set up to play 18-holes each of the four days. After the first two rounds, the low 60 scorers (including ties) will advance to play the final 36-holes. The event will be broadcast on Peacock, USA and NBC. A complete schedule is available here.
The Southlake, Texas native is the third Buffalo to qualify for the event as she joins Jessica Wallace (2014) and Robyn Choi (2017 and 2018). A record 1,874 entries from 46 U.S. states and 57 foreign countries have been accepted for the 77th U.S. Women's Open.
Before Bouraeda gets things going on June 2, several former, current and future members of the CU golf team will compete at the 2022 Inspirato Colorado Women's Golf Open at Green Valley Ranch Golf Club in Denver, June 1-3.
Former Buffaloes competing at the tournament include Jenny Coleman, Kristin Coleman, Erin Kerr Houtsma, Brittany Fan and Robyn Choi. Representing the current team will be Hailey Schalk (junior), and Natalie Vo (sophomore). Morgan Miller, an incoming freshman, is also competing.
The tournament is set up for competitors to play one round each day. Action begins at 7 a.m. the first two days, June 1 and 2. Then on June 3, the final round will begin at 7:30 a.m. after the field has been cut. Live results are available here.