Skip to main content

Nix Named To Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Jul 19, 2022

FORT WORTH, Texas — Oregon's Bo Nix is one of 35 quarterbacks named to the preseason watch list for the 2022 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O'Brien Foundation announced on Tuesday morning.
Nix is one of five Pac-12 quarterbacks on the preseason watch list for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The midseason watch list will be unveiled on Oct. 18, with the 46th annual Davey O'Brien Awards dinner honoring the winner set for Feb. 20, 2023, at The Fort Worth Club in Forth Worth, Texas.
In his first season with the Ducks after transferring from Auburn, Nix enters the fall in an open competition for the starting job with Ty Thompson and Jay Butterfield. Nix passed for 7,251 yards and 39 touchdowns in 34 career games for the Tigers while rushing 262 times for 869 yards and 18 more scores, and he was the SEC Freshman of the Year in 2019 after setting Auburn freshman records with 2,542 passing yards and 16 touchdowns.
The Ducks will open the 2022 season on Sept. 3 against defending national champion Georgia in Atlanta. The season opener will mark the first game under new head coach Dan Lanning, who helped lead the Bulldogs to the national title last season as their defensive coordinator.
2022 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Preseason Watch List
Brennan Armstrong, Virginia
Stetson Bennett, Georgia
Gerry Bohanon, USF
Logan Bonner, Utah State
Chase Brice, Appalachian State
Sean Clifford, Penn State
Malik Cunningham, Louisville.
Brett Gabbert, Miami (OH)
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma
Jake Haener, Fresno State
Jaren Hall, BYU
Frank Harris, UTSA
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest
Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
Devin Leary, NC State
Will Levis, Kentucky
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
Tanner McKee, Stanford
Tanner Mordecai, SMU
Bo Nix, Oregon
Aidan O'Connell, Purdue
Spencer Rattler, South Carolina
Chris Reynolds, Charlotte
Cameron Rising, Utah
Will Rogers, Mississippi State
Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State
C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
Payton Thorne, Michigan State
Clayton Tune, Houston
Tyler Van Dyke, Miami (Fla.)
Caleb Williams, USC
Bryce Young, Alabama