Skip to main content

Cowing on Preseason Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Jul 21, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona wide receiver Jacob Cowing today was selected to the preseason watch list for the Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes college football's outstanding receiver at any position.

Cowing is among 43 players on the Biletnikoff Award watch list. Before joining Arizona, he led UTEP in receiving yards all three seasons, including the 2021 campaign when he finished with 69 receptions for 1,354 yards and seven touchdowns. The transfer from UTEP, led all C-USA freshman and ranked No. 13 nationally with 550 receiving yards in 2019.

He earned First Team All-Conference USA honors in 2021 and Second Team recognition in 2020.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, not merely college football's outstanding wide receiver.
The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of 640 prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers.
Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see
Receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at
The 2022 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman Mark Ryan and the banquet keynote speaker at the black-tie Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration at the Dunlap Champions Club, at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, March 4, 2023. The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil, as well as by 2013 keynoter Larry Csonka, as "the best banquet in college sports."