Skip to main content

McMillan, Savaiinaea, Savea Named to Polynesian Player of the Year Watch List

Aug 17, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. -- Tetairoa McMillan, Jonah Savaiinaea, and Tiaoalii Savea announced as members of the 2022 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award Watch List. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding college football player of Polynesian ancestry that epitomizes great ability and integrity. The Watch List is composed of 85 players from 43 different FBS schools.
Five finalists for the 2022 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be unveiled on December 1st and the winner will be announced on December 15th. The presentation of the Award will be held during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Celebration Dinner (January 21, 2023) at the Sheraton Waikiki, and they will also be recognized during the Polynesian Bowl (January 20, 2023).
McMillian (Fr.) came to Arizona as the highest-rated high school signing in program history. He was the fourth-ranked wide receiver in California and the fifth wideout nationally, per Rivals and 247Sports. The four-star prospect enters his first season with the Wildcats. He was named 2021 Polynesian High School Player of the Year after pulling in 179 receptions for 2,640 yards and 34 touchdowns.
Savaiinaea (Fr.) was a three-star recruit out of St. Louis High School in Honolulu. He participated in the 2022 Polynesian Bowl and earned all-state recognition as a senior. Savaiinaea was ranked by 247Sports as the No. 3 recruit in his class from Hawai'i.
Savea (Soph.) transferred to Arizona after one season at UCLA in 2021. He played in 10 games along the defensive line with the Bruins. At Desert Pines High School in Las Vegas, he helped the team to an 11-1 record and the NIAA Class 4A state championship game in 2019. Savea was named Nevada All-State in 2019 and was selected to compete in the 2021 Under Armour All-American Game. He earned a spot in the 2021 Polynesian Bowl and was a four-star recruit after finishing his prep career according to ESPN and Rivals.
The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2022 season progresses. The finalists and winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee which includes former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack "The Throwin' Samoan" Thompson (Chairman), Coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, Inaugural Inductee and past NFLPA president Kevin Mawae, former NFL player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, and NFL Network commentator Steve Wyche. 
The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia's greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (Laie, Hawai'i) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma'a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones, and Reno Mahe. There are currently 43 inductees. The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame has provided over $300,000 in college scholarships to date. For more information, go to
The Polynesian Bowl is a premier all-star game played annually in Honolulu, Hawai'i that features 100 of the nation's top ranked high school seniors of Polynesian and non-Polynesian ancestry alike – many of whom have gone on to play in the NFL. The game has become the most sought-after all-star football invitation – a rapid rise from its inaugural game in 2017. This past January, top-ranked 2022 player Travis Hunter participated in the game and was named Offensive MVP. Major partners include Microsoft Surface Pro, Adidas, BodyArmor, Riddell, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai'i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, HBCTC, Hawai'i News Now, and World Wide Safety. For more information, go to