Skip to main content

Sun Devil Soccer’s Nicole Douglas named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug 18, 2022

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – United Soccer Coaches today announced Sun Devil Soccer's Nicole Douglas is one of 60 players on the 2022 Hermann Trophy Watch List.
The Hermann Trophy, presented annually by the Missouri Athletic Club, is the nation's highest individual honor recognizing the National Player of the Year as determined by the voting of Division I coaches who are members of United Soccer Coaches.

Earlier this week, Douglas, who has started all 71 games she has played over the last four seasons, was named one of 41 Forwards to Watch by United Soccer Coaches. The list included United Soccer Coaches All-Americans – Douglas was a 2021 Third-Team All-American – and first or second team All-Region players from 2021, who are scheduled to return for the 2022 season.

In 2021, Douglas became the first Sun Devil to earn All-America honors since 2002. The 2021 NCAA scoring leader, Douglas was one 13 players named to the All-Pac-12 First Team for a phenomenal season in which she set the single-season school records for goals (19) and points (45). She led the nation in goals (19), goals per game (0.95) and points per game (2.25).
A fifth-year player, Douglas enters the 2022 season in second place in program history in career goals (46), career points (109) and career game-winning goals (14) and is tied for seventh in career assists (17). Sun Devil Hall of Famer Stacey Tullock (1998-2001) holds the school record in all four categories: goals (50), points (125), game-winning goals (16) and assists (25).

Fifteen women's players will be named Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Nov. 30 after completion of Division I All-America voting following the fall season. Then on Dec. 7, the top three players from a final round of voting are the 2021 finalists. The 2022 winner is revealed on Jan. 6, 2023, at a ceremony at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.

Under sixth-year head coach Graham Winkworth, the Sun Devils open the 2022 campaign on Thursday (7 p.m. MST) when they host 2021 NCAA participant South Dakota State. Click here to purchase tickets in advance. For questions or assistance, please call Joey Swett at (480) 727-7022 or email