Skip to main content

Chair of Pac-12 Research Grant Program Committee honored with NCURA’s highest award

Aug 5, 2019
Kristina Sherk (NCURA)
Washington State’s Dan Nordquist receives National Council of University Research Administrators’ highest honor
SAN FRANCISCO – Earlier today, Washington State’s Dan Nordquist, associate vice president for research and deputy vice president for operations in the university’s office of research, was honored at the National Council of University Research Administrators (NCURA) 61st annual meeting in Washington, D.C. with the council’s 2019 award for outstanding achievement in research administration. A key figure with the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Health and Well-Being Initiative, Nordquist has served as chair of the Pac-12’s Research Grant Program Committee since its inception in 2013. As chair, he has played a leading role in managing the program, overseeing a rigorous review process of proposals that has led to 25 research projects funded across Pac-12 universities.
“Research taking place across our universities has been and continues to be paramount for the overall improvement of our student-athletes’ safety, health and well-being,” said Woodie Dixon, Pac-12 general counsel and senior vice president of business affairs.  “We are fortunate to have Dan overseeing our grant program and are thrilled for him to be receiving this special recognition.”

Established in 1959, NCURA serves as the premier professional association for university research administrators with a membership totaling over 7,500 across 38 countries. The council advances the profession of research administration through education and professional development programs, the sharing of knowledge and experiences and the fostering of a diverse, collegial and respected global community. Nordquist, a member of NCURA for nearly 25 years, has held several positions within the organization including as NCURA President, Chair of Region VI and as the Senior Editor of NCURA Magazine. In 2017, Dan received the Region VI Meritorious Contribution Award and the NCURA Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award in 2014.
The outstanding achievement in research administration award recognizes individuals who demonstrate noteworthy contributions to NCURA and have made significant contributions to the profession of research administration. Since the award was first presented in 1994, the award is NCURA’s highest honor.
The Pac-12’s grant program has made it a priority to fund cutting-edge research by pooling the collective expertise of the Pac-12 membership. Currently, there are a number of on-going studies at each university across the Conference, focusing on areas such as mental health, head trauma and concussions and improvements to injury recovery and prevention practices. While research from the program takes place across the Pac-12, the goal of each project is to ultimately provide a positive impact for all Pac-12 institutions and all student-athletes.  
About the Pac-12 Student-Athlete Health and Well-Being Initiative
Created in 2013, the Student-Athlete Health and Well-Being Initiative is a collective effort between the Pac-12 and its member universities to strengthen and improve the health, general well-being and safety of all student-athletes. The initiative has provided funding for 25 research projects at its 12 universities for five consecutive years, with a total investment of over $12 million. More information on the initiative, as well as request for proposal details for the 2020 funding cycle of the grant program, closing on October 1, 2019, are available at
About the Pac-12 Conference
The Conference has a tradition as the “Conference of Champions,” leading the nation in NCAA Championships in 53 of the last 59 years, with 526 NCAA team titles overall. The Conference comprises 12 leading U.S. universities - the University of Arizona, Arizona State University, the University of California, Berkeley, the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), the University of Colorado, the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Stanford University, the University of Southern California, the University of Utah, the University of Washington and Washington State University. For more information on the Conference’s programs, member institutions, and Commissioner Larry Scott, go to​