Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Ken Shannon Invite Wraps Up Regular Season

May 6, 2021

2021 Ken Shannon Invitational
Friday, May 7 | Husky Outdoor Track

Heat Sheets | Final Event Schedule | Live Results

SEATTLE - The regular season as well as the home season finishes up for the Husky track and field squad tomorrow with the return of the Ken Shannon Invitational at Husky Outdoor Track. Washington will be honoring nineteen seniors at the conclusion of the meet, named in honor of UW's Hall of Fame head coach of nearly three decades. Spectators are not permitted at this year's Ken Shannon Invitational as only UW athlete guests are approved.

Field events begin at 10 a.m. on Friday with the first track event scheduled for 2:20 p.m. The meet should wrap up around 4 p.m., at which time Washington will pay tribute to its senior class which has persevered through the canceled 2020 outdoor season, many coming back for a fifth or in some cases sixth year to conclude their college careers the right way.

The meet will be the final tune-up for the Huskies before postseason competition starts. The Pac-12 Championships are just one week away, starting May 14 in Los Angeles, hosted by USC. From there, Huskies qualified in the top-48 in their events will head to the NCAA West Preliminaries in College Station, Texas, and then advancers will be finishing the year in Eugene at the NCAA Outdoor Championships from June 9-12.

The Huskies will have a limited number of athletes in competition on Friday, as the field will be comprised largely of local colleges, including Central Washington, Seattle Pacific, Seattle U., Western Washington, and Saint Martin's.

When the meet wraps up, UW will honor its seniors, a list that includes Tanner Anderson, Julian Body, Julius Diehr, Connor Jost, Parker Kennedy, Devan Kirk, Lyndsey Lopes, Shona McCulloch, Ginny Mehl, Darhian Mills, Dustin Nading, Gavin Parpart, Katie Rainsberger, Kemuel Santana, Zach Shugart, Chase Smith, Mick Stanovsek, Dalton Sugg, and Hannah Waskom.