Skip to main content

Sofiane Djeffal Named to 2021 Hermann Trophy Watchlist

Aug 26, 2021

ST. LOUIS, MO. -  Oregon State junior midfielder Sofiane Djeffal was named to the 2021 Men's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List the Missouri Athletic Club announced Thursday. 

Djeffal in one of 44 players in contention for the award. Last season Djeffal started ten games, clocking 833 minutes on the pitch. He recorded six goals on the season, ranking as Oregon State's second-highest scorer. Tallying 25 shots, the Nantes, France native recorded a .240 shot percentage. He also recorded two assists.

The 2020 MAC Hermann trophy went to Oregon State's Gloire Amanda, who earned All-Pac-12 and All-Far West Region First-Team honors. Amanda also set the record for points in a season with 37 and tied Alan Gordan for the second-highest goals total in a season (15).   

The Beavers open their season on Friday at 7 p.m. against Denver at Lorenz Field. 

The MAC Hermann Trophy is regarded as the highest individual honor recognizing the nation's National Player of the Year. It is awarded annually by the Missouri Athletic Club. Fifteen players will be named semifinalists on Nov. 30, after the United Soccer Coaches Division I All-America voting at the close of the regular season. Three finalists will be decided by a final round of voting and announced on Dec. 15 and the 2021 recipient will be announced on Jan. 7, 2022.