Skip to main content

Calvin Jackson Jr. Added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Nov 3, 2021

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (November 3, 2021) – Washington State wide receiver Calvin Jackson Jr. was added to the 2021 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Wednesday. Jackson Jr. joins running back Max Borghi who was named to the same watch list prior to the season.
The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season's outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, not merely college football's outstanding wide receiver.
Jackson Jr. entered the week fourth in the Pac-12 Conference with 49 receptions, second with 667 receiving yards and 74.1 receiving yards-per-game, tied for fourth with five touchdown receptions and second in the league with 11 catches for 20+yards. The Fort Lauderdale, Fla. native caught two touchdowns in the win at California, had nine catches in the win over Oregon State, had a touchdown grab in the win over Stanford and caught eight passes for a career-high 139 yards with a 45-yard touchdown catch in the win at Arizona State.
The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.
Receivers are frequently added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List. 
Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2021 FanVote. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (ten receivers), finalists (three receivers), and the winner.