Skip to main content

Curley Culp Inducted into Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Mar 7, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO - Curley Culp's accolades list just got a little longer. The late Sun Devil is one of 12 former Conference of Champions student-athletes being inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor Friday, March 11. Formal induction will take place during a private ceremony prior to the semifinals of the 2022 Pac-12 Men's Basketball Tournament, presented by New York Life. Following induction, the class will be honored during a special halftime ceremony of the day's first semifinal matchup at T-Mobile Arena. Culp, who died at age 75 Nov. 27, 2021, is in the Arizona State HOF, Pro Football HOF, Chiefs HOF, and Arizona Sports HOF.
Pac-12 Release
Sun Devil Legend Curley Culp Dies Age 75
"The Pac-12 is honored to recognize the accomplishments of 12 incredible women and men who represent the very best of the Conference of Champions, on and off the fields of play," said Pac-12 Commissioner George Kliavkoff.  "From Olympic gold medalists to Super Bowl champions to NBA All-Stars to WNBA veterans to, of course, collegiate champions, our honorees continue a showcase of our league's rich tradition of champions."
This year's Pac-12 Hall of Honor class features another star-studded list of inductees, including:
Tanya Hughes (Arizona)
Curley Culp (Arizona State)
Layshia Clarendon (Cal)
Jenny Simpson (Colorado)
English Gardner (Oregon)
Steven Jackson (Oregon State)
Tony Azevedo (Stanford)
Jackie Joyner-Kersee (UCLA)
John Naber (USC)
Tom Chambers (Utah)
Tina Frimpong Ellertson (Washington)
Drew Bledsoe (Washington State)
A prolific football player and wrestler, Curley Culp was an All-American on the gridiron for the Sun Devils as well as the 1967 NCAA heavyweight wrestling champion, Arizona State's first-ever wrestling national champion. Widely regarded as one of the best nose tackles to ever play the game, Culp thrived under the guidance of legendary Sun Devil head coach Frank Kush. Following his collegiate career, he went on to play football for 14 years professionally, highlighted by a championship in Super Bowl IV, before earning a spot in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2013.

The Pac-12 Conference established the Pac-12 Hall of Honor in 2002. From 2002-17, the Pac-12 celebrated its men's basketball legends by inducting an annual class of standout coaches and student-athletes into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor. Starting in 2018, the Hall of Honor pivoted to feature legendary figures from an array of sports to be inclusive of the broad-based athletics success celebrated in the Conference of Champions.

2022: Curley Culp
2020: Melissa Belote Ripley (women's swimming)
2019: Frank Kush (football)
2018: Linda Vollstedt (women's golf)
2017: Tarence Wheeler
2016: Art Becker
2015: Ron Riley
2014: Verl Heap
2013: Dennis Hamilton
2012: Kurt Nimphius
2011: Isaac Austin
2010: Jeremy Veal
2009: Royce Youree
2008: Alton Lister
2007: Eddie House
2006: Lionel Hollins
2005: Joe Caldwell
2004: Fat Lever
2003: Ned Wulk
2002: Byron Scott